Is social media helping or hurting networking?

The double edged sword the effects of social media on every individual

MICHAEL BECKERMAN

social media, new media, digital media, networking tips

By now, I am sure everyone has seen this report about the LinkedIn exchange that went viral. The story is very similar to others that I hear almost daily these days. It got me thinking about the state of networking in modern times. Is it better or worse with the advent of social media?

First, a long rewind to back when I first started out. I was in my early 20’s and knew no one. Not one business connection. So, I started really old school to build my business, which began as a small PR firm with one employee. ME!

I got a directory and mailed (yes, I said MAILED) out letters about me and my company. Hundreds … thousands … all day and all night. After a while, one lead bit and called me. I then took that one intro (thank you John Gawlowski) and built hundreds of…

View original post 402 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

